My Mother

September 13, 2006

This is a picture of my mother holding me when I was younger than my two kids now. She died eleven years ago today of lung cancer.

5 Responses to “My Mother”

  1. Alex Says:

    This is my favorite picture.

  2. Charles Says:

    Lung cancer is a terrible scourge. My mother-in-law fought it for five years – almost three years longer than the docs said she could. The last 88 days of that precious life our home became her last home on earth.

    It was both holy and hellish – a time we would not have passed through as well without the gifted assistance of hospice professionals.

    When my son returned home for Christmas of his freshman year at college with cigarettes in his pocket, we simply pulled out pictures of him sitting at the bedside of the frail and dying woman who once was the strong and vital grandmother that he adored — he through them away…

    Requiem aeternam dona eis, Domine; et lux perpetua luceat eis.

  3. sheepdays Says:

    Charles, thanks very much for this. I’m very glad to hear that your son gave up cigarettes. My mother smoked for 23 years, had quit for 2, but the damage was done.

    I needed this especially today.

  4. Little Mary Says:

    wow. 12 years ago. it feels like yesterday and it feels forever ago. i wonder how it feels for you. it just isn’t fair, is it. this means if htat was 12 years ago that i have known you for a very long time. for this i am grateful. for this marker of how long i have known you, i am sad today.love you my dear.

  5. ale Says:

    My mom lost hers to emphysema (provoked by smoking). It’s been 20 years now but she still misses her. I know she prays to her every day. Moms are forever missed.


Leave a Reply

