The Best Nightmare

September 30, 2006

Last night around 2:30am, my little 3-year-old son Thomas had a nightmare. It was like what they call a “night terror;” he woke suddenly and began to shout. He shouted over and over, “Daddy! Daddy!” When I went to him, he settled back down into his bed right away, hugged his tiger and his brown bear, and slept peacefully through the rest of the night.

When I became a father, I knew I wouldn’t be the best one ever, but I did want to better than my own. Of course, I don’t want Tom to have nightmares, but that he called for his daddy means very, very much to me. I realized when I went back to bed from his room that I never, ever would have called for my dad when I was a child. I always would have wanted my mother. I lay in bed and felt my heart bursting that I am a comfort to this child, at least sometimes.

2 Responses to “The Best Nightmare”

  1. Matthew Says:

    brett,
    this is so cool.

  2. pinknest Says:

    aw, that is so sweet.


Leave a Reply

