Questions about Revelation

November 6, 2006

John the RevelatorLast week in church, a woman asked me why preachers never preach from the book of Revelation.  This question was a bit of a revelation to me as I had never noticed this.  On further reflection, I realize I have heard very few sermons on Revelation in mainline churches, excepting funerals.  I think we’re leary of perpetuating the old “there will be pie in the sky when you die” routine, which ignores the very real pains and problems of this present life.  As the psalmist says, “I believe I will see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living.”

Also news to me was her second question.   “Is it true what they say, you know, that if you read Revelation all the way through, you will die?”  I had never heard this, but told her I thought it probably is not true since I have read the whole confusing mess several times and am still alive.  Again, on further reflection, I think I was too quick in my answer; I have read Revelation, and I will die.  Now, whether these two items are causally related, who can know?

4 Responses to “Questions about Revelation”

  1. Evonne Says:

    Great Post. I love hearing your thoughts.


  2. Well, you can always tell her that even pagans who have read Revolations all the way through (in one sitting, no less) have managed to survive thus far, so it’s probably safe.

  3. Matt Says:

    The question points to why doing some treatment of Revelation is important, but difficult because the dispensationalist have so poisoned that well. “Where’s the part about the rapture?” *sigh*

  4. sheepdays Says:

    Thanks for your comments everyone.
    Hey, Matt! Nice to see you back here. You are sooo right about the dispensationalists. Navigating a true Christian hope for the life to come can be tricky.


Leave a Reply

