Baked Oatmeal

November 7, 2006

I made this recipe for baked oatmeal this morning, and I was immediately addicted. This recipe is like the crack of breakfast foods.

Baked Oatmeal

2 cups uncooked quick-cooking oats
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1/3 cup raisins
1 tablespoon chopped walnuts
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 1/2 cups fat-free milk
1/2 cup applesauce
2 tablespoons butter, melted
1 large egg, beaten
Cooking spray

Preheat oven to 375°.Combine the first 5 ingredients in a medium bowl. Combine the milk, applesauce, butter, and egg. Add milk mixture to oat mixture; stir well. Pour oat mixture into an 8-inch square baking dish coated with cooking spray. Bake at 375° for 20 minutes. Serve warm.

Notes:

  • I used regular old-fashioned oats (not the quick-cooking kind) and had good results.
  • We had no walnuts, so no walnuts in our version, but I bet they’d be good–especially black walnuts!
  • After it comes out of the oven, you may need to add some more milk to the oats in your bowl to get the consistency you want. I ate two bowls, one with and one without cinnamon. I love cinnamon, but think this is better without.
  • The recipe is taken from Cooking Light magazine.

5 Responses to “Baked Oatmeal”

  1. Evonne Says:

    I really do hate oatmeal. Think this can make me a beleiver?

  2. sheepdays Says:

    Hate oatmeal?! What are you, a communist?!
    No, seriously, this stuff is good, but I won’t swear that it will convert you to the oatmeal side. It still tastes like oatmeal, only more so.

  3. Evonne Says:

    I promise, I’ll try it as soon as I get to town for some milk.

  4. Matt Says:

    You give this such a strong recommendation that I HAVE to try it. Sounds good.


  5. […] I made it again this morning–I can’t help myself–I just make it over and over.  Baked oatmeal is here to stay. […]


Leave a Reply

