Slyder Stuffing

November 16, 2006

Over on megnut.com there’s a report of a truly novel Thanksgiving dish: stuffing made out of White Castle slyders. Slyders are the kind of food I talk about but don’t actually eat. This Thanksgiving, all that may have to change. As a public service, I reprint the recipe here in full:

White Castle Turkey Stuffing
INGREDIENTS
10 White Castle hamburgers, no pickles
1 1/2 cups celery, diced
1 1/4 tsp. ground thyme
1 1/2 tsp. ground sage
3/4 tsp. coarsely ground black pepper
1/4 cup chicken broth

INSTRUCTIONS
In a large mixing bowl, tear the burgers into pieces and add diced celery and seasonings. Toss and add chicken broth. Toss well. Stuff cavity of turkey just before roasting. Makes about 9 cups (enough for a 10- to 12-pound turkey). Note: Allow 1 hamburger for each pound of turkey, which will be the equivalent of 3/4 cup of stuffing per pound.
Submitted by White Castle Management Co.

Last Christmas, my father-in-law mail-ordered what I thought was the holy grail of stuffing: the turducken (a chicken stuffed in a duck stuffed in a turkey). But, I have to say, at best we were whelmed by the turducken. So, instead of stuffing other birds into your turkey, this year why not try bovine parts and puffy buns?

5 Responses to “Slyder Stuffing”

  1. Alex Says:

    Oops, that didn’t work

  2. sheepdays Says:

    I don’t know….I think a stunned silence is a pretty appropriate response.

  3. Alex Says:

    I tried to make a link, but my blogging skills suck about as much as that stuffing recipe (or that nasty turducken).

    Happy Anniversary, Sweetheart!

  4. Peter Says:

    Stunned silence does seem appropriate, but since it doesn’t come easily to me, I’ll speak.

    I haven’t been to a White Castle since my wife craved their burgers during her first pregnancy fifteen years ago. I love the idea of this stuffing. It will be our turn to host the family Thanksgiving a year from now, and I plan on offering this as at least an alternative stuffing. I could save an eighty-minute trip by buying McDonald’s burgers as ingredients, but I’ve got to think that White Castle’s burgers would make all the difference. Healthy food, indeed!


Leave a Reply

