Self-portrait: dad

December 20, 2006

I was home today while the kids were at preschool, and Alex was at work. Since I was home alone, this was a great day to work on stuff without little helpers. This afternoon I assembled Tom’s first bicycle, training wheels and all. Like an elf, I was full of glee the whole time I was working on it and couldn’t resist taking my own picture with the finished bike. I can’t wait to see his perfect little face when he gets the bike on Christmas.

bike

I still can’t believe how great it is to be the father of these children.

 

7 Responses to “Self-portrait: dad”

  1. Belinda Says:

    The bike looks awesome Brett and you are an amazing father – have a wonderful Christmas with your family and enjoy every minute!!! :))))

  2. sheepdays Says:

    Thanks, Belinda. The other thing I forgot to mention is that today is the 3rd year anniversary of our family. Three years ago today, Thomas came to us in Guatemala City. We returned home to the U.S. on Dec. 24, 2003, with a bouncing baby boy who’s now big enough to ride a bike!

  3. Evonne Says:

    Three cheers for you Brett. You’re a great Dad, you pick out cool gifts, and I bet you will spend much time helping him learn to ride it. Thank God for all the good Dad’s out there

  4. sheepdays Says:

    I try to be a good dad, though here, I have to admit that Alex picked out the bike! I just put it together.

  5. Alex Says:

    The bike looks great! And I am so happy it is already assembled and in the shed, so we don’t have to fool with it late on Christmas Eve. Good job, Brett.


Leave a Reply

