Trying to come back

May 18, 2007

I haven’t blogged in almost a month.  The universe seems to be basically the same.

I have moved many times in my life, but this was the first time with two small children.  No move has stressed me out more; I seem to have become more and more tied to my daily routines.  These routines have apparently become more than just comfortable rhythms for me–I have been terribly decalibrated and am trying to get back on track.  I follow daily habits closer than most, so it has been trying to come up with new ways of making the coffee, of brushing my teeth, of vacuuming the floor, of putting away the dishes, etc.  I can’t just do these things “for the time being;” every act is a rehearsal for my regular routine.  Add to this my daughter Lily’s full-on two-year-old attitude that everything is hers to fool with, when and where she wants, accompanied with as much crying and stubbornness as possible, and I am trying to keep my act together.

Despite this stress, I like our new house, our new midwestern town, the rain and the green, mowing the grass, pulling weeds among the former owners’ shrubs, meeting the neighbors on a street so American it’s like a sitcom.

In any case, I’ve broken back into my blog, and I’ll try to keep posting stuff.  I have enjoyed reading your blogs, and also will try to comment more regularly.

13 Responses to “Trying to come back”

  1. Evonne Says:

    Oh you are doing good. You even have this post filed under ‘Uncategorized’. That should stand for something. And I can’t wait to meet Lily and reunite with Tom. She sounds like she keeps everyone entertained.

  2. Preacher Mom Says:

    Oy! That sounds like a grand combination of stressor bound to tie up a blogger’s creativity for a time. I sympathize especially with the two-year-old thing. Of course, she may be going through her own version of routine-disrupted, thus making her age-related behavior even worse.

    Hope you all settle into a routine soon. And hope to see you blogging more soon.


  3. “decalibrated”–I recognize the sensation you’re talking about, just never knew what to call it before. Glad you’re back.

  4. sheepdays Says:

    Thanks for the comments. I’m glad you all are still reading!

  5. sheepdays Says:

    Thanks for the post, honey.

  6. Dave Bonta Says:

    I hope there’s a still a bus you can ride. If not, I’ll miss those posts.

  7. Liz Says:

    We miss you all so much.

    Moving is “messed up”, as my students would say.

    Routines are a soothing way to cope with things.

    As my mother would say about kids, “They come the way they come.” Tom will always be social and tender. Lily does own the world. Get used to it.

    We miss all of you so very much.

    Glad to have you back.

  8. Harold Ragan Says:

    Hi Brett,

    Moves can be frustrating. With each move we make, I grow more weary of the process. With 6 children, we’ve decided that the next move we make is going to the final move until they’re all out of the house. We’ll be moving into a 6 or 7 bedroom ‘All American’ home with plenty of room for all of our stuff AND all our little wandering blessings. I’ve outgrown more homes than most, and I’m ready to be finished. I can completely relate to the things you’ve outlined in your post. 😉

    Do you remember the song that we wrote together entitled ‘So It Seems’? You have always been brilliant with words. A few years back I recorded it just for the sake of capturing the memory. I’ll link I’ll put a link in here just for fun. It’s a little ‘rough ’round the edges’.

    I heard rumor that your were moving to St. Louis. Is that correct? Are you preaching there? It would be a great privilege for my family and I to join your service sometime. What can I say, it’s on my list of things to do before I die.

    I’m going to bring this to a close because this comment is probably longer than the original post and I’m not in the mood to author a novel.

    peace and blessings,
    Frankie

  9. sheepdays Says:

    Dave: Part of the problem with the blog–I’m in such a new place, don’t know what I’ll be wanting to write about!

    Frankie: “Wray” sounds good! 6 kids? Wow! It’s not me but Alex who has the church here–I’ll just be working on my dissertation and teaching here and there.

  10. Little Mary Says:

    i don’t think i could ever move again, my routines are so set and i rely on them so much. we are cut from the same cloth in some ways, dutch one. love ya.

  11. Veda Faith Says:

    Hi Brett,

    Its been a really long time since the last time I was you. I don’t really remember the last time. I’m 14 now. I got braces a couple weeks ago. I didn’t know you had two kids…congrats. Moves can be stressful I guess, but it turns out to be a good thing. Well, I’m gonna go…Say hi to Alex for me.

    Love Ya!
    Veda Faith Ragan

  12. Mary Beth Says:

    Alex says you need things to blog about. I think you need to write about what an awesome wife and mom she is! 🙂

  13. sheepdays Says:

    Good idea, Mary Beth!

    Hi Veda!


Leave a Reply

