Fathers’ Day

June 16, 2007

I already got my Fathers’ Day presents, but I did a fatherly thing today in preparation for tomorrow. We bought Tom & Lily a backyard swingset, and I put it together in the hot sun. Getting to the house from the hated Wal-Mart was trouble–it was in one huge box that is meant to ride comfortably in a pickup or SUV. I have a Toyota Corolla. So, we bought it, I drove the family home, unloaded everything from the car including car seats, put the back seats down thus opening a large space from the trunk, and drove back. Two teenagers helped me load the car. Even with this larger space, we had to get the various parts out of the box to get them in the car. There were 431 parts (I am not kidding, I counted). I’m still happy to have an economy car instead of a gas guzzler.

Here’s a line from the assembly instructions: “Depending on your experience, assembly of this Play set should take approximately 6 to 12 hours after inventory of parts. Therefore, we recommend you set aside a full day for assembly.” Sheesh. Despite this warning and the fact that I have no swingset assembly experience, and it took me only 5 hours and 45 minutes. Some people in their test audience must be really slow. I guess my PhD coursework has got me drilling, hammering, assemblying at breakneck pace; it’s got to be good for something.

After completion, proud dad made a short video:

6 Responses to “Fathers’ Day”

  1. Alex Says:

    I have to say, I expected a LOT more swearing while you were constructing that thing. Great job! Happy Father’s Day, sweetheart.

  2. Little Mary Says:

    wow. you rock. and i am impressed with the little bit of time it took! you are a good dad. happy father’s day!

  3. Liz Says:

    Good job, Brett, We kept waiting for Lily to go flying out but she, literally, hung in there. That will be so much fun.

    Have you set up the bouncer, yet?

  4. Evonne Says:

    You get the Best Dad of the day Award. I am so impressed. I also think it should be a requiremnt that you post a video once a week of your neat family. That would impress me also. Happy Fathers Day kiddo.

  5. Songbird Says:

    Wow! That is impressive work. And the children are, as ever, adorable. Happy Father’s Day!!

  6. sheepdays Says:

    Thanks, everybody! My soft hands are all sore today–it must be hard to have to work for a living! Happy Fathers’ Day to all.


Leave a Reply

