About

June 20, 2007

My name is Brett Hendrickson, and “Sheep Days” is my blog.  I don’t consider this blog to be full of fine writing or anything like that; I think of it more as a creative (and sometimes intellectual) outlet and as a way to keep in touch with friends and family.

I am a doctoral student at Arizona State University in the Religious Studies department.  My dissertation research has to do with religious healing and cultural contact between Mexicans, Mexican Americans, and Anglo Americans in the U.S.-Mexico border region.  I’m especially interested in folk saints, curanderismo, transcultural “medicine,” popular devotions, and conceptions of power.

I am married to Alex, and we have two children, Thomas and Lily.   Alex is the associate pastor of a large Presbyterian church in southwestern Illinois, where we live.  Coincidentally, I am also an ordained Presbyterian minister.  When we lived in Arizona, I served Guadalupe Presbyterian Church, a bilingual congregation.  Many of the best posts in “Sheep Days,” in my opinion, have to do with my time with the Guadalupe church.  Currently, I don’t serve a church and am hoping to some day be a college professor after  I finish my degree.

8 Responses to “About”

  1. ale Says:

    Thanks for sharing! Your research subject sounds fascinating. When you become a college professor, do you think you’ll teach at at a private/religiously affiliated school or would you prefer a public institution?

    I suppose Religious Studies may be different from Anthropology in terms of faculty and students’ attitudes towards professors that are practicing Christians/Muslims/Jewish, etc. Still, I am curious on your take on this. When I was assistant prof. at a lay university in Guate, some of my students had issues with the fact that I am a practicing Catholic.

    Any thoughts?

  2. sheepdays Says:

    I’d teach at either kind of institution–the job market for professors is not the kind in which you can be too choosy. However, I probably couldn’t take a job at a religious school that required teachers to sign some sort of confessional statement; I think such things curtail academic freedom.

    I tend to keep my religious affiliation private from my students. There are so many assumptions projected on me when people discover that I’m a clergy person that I prefer to leave this aspect of my life outside of the classroom.

  3. ale Says:

    Thanks Brett!

    I’m always curious about how others deal with this. My students knew that I attended the Maryknoll school, although I never brought up the subject in the classroom. I also like to keep it private but in Guate this is hard, particularly in the small world of universities.

  4. Lidija Says:

    Hi! Found the page from Aly’s blog. Nice to read you. (and my daughter’s Lily too 🙂

  5. sheepdays Says:

    Hey Lidija! I’m glad you found my blog, though I haven’t been working on it lately. I’d love to see pictures of your little Lily.

  6. Lidija Says:

    Lotsa pics of both her and her twin brother, Luka, at:
    http://lilyluka.dezfulian.com

  7. sheepdays Says:

    Both are beautiful! Congratulations–I didn’t know you had kids, and these two are obviously very good kids.

  8. Lidija Says:

    You’re as kind as ever, Brett, but is there such a thing as a “good” toddler? *lol* No, they are good, and I love them to death.

    Last time I heard of a curandera, was in John Geffroy’s class 🙂 Best of luck with the studies (I did it all in one shot, and still miss school). Last I saw you was… more than 10 yrs ago? Yikes, I feel old when I think that.


Leave a Reply

