New job

July 28, 2007

I just got a new job.  I’m the newest adjunct professor in the philosophy department at the local community college.  For now, I’ll be teaching two classes:  Intro. to Philosophy and Non-Western Philosophy.  The rest of the time, I’ll keep studying for my oral exams and preparing to write my dissertation.

So, any pointers?  What sort of philosophy would you want to cover in an introductory class?  What answers do you need questioned?

5 Responses to “New job”

  1. Charles Says:

    Ya know how sometimes folks misread words on first scan? Instead of Non-Western Philosophy, I thought I read Neo-Western Philosophy. Hmmmmm. What could possibly come up in Neo-Western Philosophy course?

  2. ale Says:

    First, congratulations on your new post!! Then, wow. Philosophy. Speaking as someone who remembers little and understood much less, I’d assume your students will know little and maybe will be a bit scared of the subject. I know it permeates everyday life but most of us tend to forget that. Have you thought about talking about everyday “encounters” with Philosophy so that students are not intimidated by it? As you can see, I’m still a bit scared of the subject 🙂

    Being an anthropologist, I find Non-Western Philosophy much more appealing and “safe” than principles and ideas that have shaped western thought.

  3. Agnieszka Says:

    wow, awesome.
    i’d worry less about what to cover (you will do just great) than the actual class structure, format, designing assignments. i find that to be the hardest part: to teach in such a way as to build real connections between people, leave something behind after the semester is over, engage students in learning…
    i am a big fan of the “Writing Across the Curriculum” approach ( lots of info on the web) I think it helps to learn.

    Good luck!
    aga

  4. sheepdays Says:

    Thanks for the congrats. Aga, I’ll check out this “Writing across the Curriculum,” sounds like it’ll be something I’ll like. And Ale, I do hope to make a lot of “real life” connections between philosophical ideas and what we do and think every day. I’m planning a big unit at the end of the semester to apply philosophy to the notion of “multiculturalism.”
    Neo-western? Who knows? I think Neo-western movies might be about cowboys who use cell phones….:)

  5. Agnieszka Says:

    And a link to WAC info from the blog that I am part of.
    Cheers
    AGA
    http://cac.ophony.org/2007/08/01/from-the-cuny-wacwid-handbook/


Leave a Reply

